King of the armadillos
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Flatiron Books, 2023.
ISBN
9781250843005, 1250843006
Status
Eisenhower Public Library District - Stacks
FIC CHIN-TANNER, W.
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Eisenhower Public Library District - StacksFIC CHIN-TANNER, W.On Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Addison Public Library - 2nd Floor - Adult BooksFIC CHIN W.On Shelf
Alsip-Merrionette Park Public Library District - StacksF CHIN-TANNEROn Shelf
Cicero Public Library - StacksCHIN-TANNER, WENDYOn Shelf
Downers Grove Public Library - 2nd Floor - AdultFICTION CHIN-TANNER, W.On Shelf
Forest Park Public Library - StacksFIC CHIN-TANNEROn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
New York : Flatiron Books, 2023.
Format
Book
Physical Desc
viii, 322 pages ; 25 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9781250843005, 1250843006

Notes

Description
"A transcendent debut novel about family, love, and belonging, set against the backdrops of 1950s New York City and a historical leprosarium in Louisiana, following one young man's quest to not only survive, but live a full and vibrant life Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson's Red at The Bone, Netflix's Atypical, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Victor Chin's life is turned upside down at the tender age of 15. Diagnosed with Hansen's disease, otherwise known as leprosy, he's forced to leave the familiar confines of his father's laundry business in the Bronx - the only home he's known since emigrating from China with his older brother - to quarantine alongside patients from all over the country at a federal institution in Carville. At first, Victor is scared not only of the disease, but of the confinement, and wants nothing more than to flee. Between treatments he dreams of escape and imagines his life as a fugitive. But soon he finds a new sense of freedom far from home - one without the pull of obligations to his family, or the laundry business, or his mother back in China. Here, in the company of an unforgettable cast of characters, Victor finds refuge in music and experiences first love, jealousy, betrayal, and even tragedy. But with the promise of a life-changing cure on the horizon, Victor's time at Carville is running out, and he has some difficult choices to make. A groundbreaking work of historical fiction, King of the Armadillos announces Wendy Chin-Tanner as an extraordinary new voice. Inspired by her father's experience as a young patient at Carville, this tender coming-of-age novel is a captivating look at a forgotten radical community and a lyrical exploration of the power of art"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Chin-Tanner, W. (2023). King of the armadillos (First edition.). Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Chin-Tanner, Wendy. 2023. King of the Armadillos. Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Chin-Tanner, Wendy. King of the Armadillos Flatiron Books, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Chin-Tanner, Wendy. King of the Armadillos First edition., Flatiron Books, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.